Well, #PitchWars is over…

     …And like so many others, I wasn’t picked to be a mentee.

     But that’s okay, because things happen.  Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose, but you’ll never know until you play the game.  No one’s perfect, no one will always take home the title.

     Know what?  I learned a lot from this experience.  I learned my word processor is a joke, and I should use Google Docs instead.  I learned GIFs are an amusing and effective way to communicate with a large audience.  I learned a young protagonist doesn’t necessarily mean your story is YA.  I learned nine sentences out of ten do not need the word “that”.

     But most importantly, I’ve learned the #PitchWars tag wasn’t just for a contest…  It was for making friends.  It was for camaraderie.  It was for Dance Parties.  It was for love of all shapes and sizes.  And I love all of the people who were involved, in some way or another, in this moment. You made a long wait easy and worth it, and I revel in the successes and mourn with those who feel their loss (and raise a pint with those who say, “What’s done is done!), but we will all continue on because we are strong.

     So thank you, Pitch Warriors, mentees and mentors – your undying optimism helped make my cynical heart grow three sizes in these past few weeks. ❤

3 thoughts on “Well, #PitchWars is over…

  1. I’m with you, K.M., this has been a fantastic experience, and a great way to immerse myself in the writing community at-large…something I don’t really get to do. I’ve learned to appreciate Twitter far more than I did before. I was encouraged by how many other writers sought to lift each other up rather than try and run them over like they were competition and nothing else. I have smiled and laughed many times at the gif parties, dance parties, and general atmosphere of frivolity that have pervaded the #PitchWars feed these past few weeks. I’m glad you aren’t giving up, either. I read so many tweets from people who didn’t get selected in previous years and then scored agents shortly thereafter, so this certainly isn’t the end of the road. Good luck in your endeavor, and don’t be a stranger on Twitter (or in the blogosphere, for that matter!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I most certainly agree! My feed was so negative the weekend after submissions opened, and it made me so sad to see people giving up on themselves so early in the fight (especially after reading the “I didn’t get accepted into PitchWars, but now I have an agent/books coming out!” tweets, like you did). I was so relieved when things took a turn for the better – I may have a tinge of fatalism in me, but I try not to go quietly into that good night, and I’m glad very few took that path.

      Congratulations on your PitchWars victory, and I hope your road leads you where you want to go! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

