The Road Traveled: Why I Wrote About My Choice

     This was originally the last paragraph of my previous entry, but unfortunately, I missed it when I copied the entry into WordPress! To make up for it, I’ll expand this into a proper entry. It’ll also give me a few extra days to work on my next post, as well. 🙂

     So, why did I decide to write about my own publishing journey? Why did I think anyone would want to know about the thought process behind my decision? The honest answer is that I don’t. I don’t expect anyone to care. I would love it if people did spend time wondering about my feelings in such a way, but I know it ultimately isn’t going to work like that. Humanity is an inherently self-centered specie, which it has to be – the very quality of self-preservation, which is vital to any living being on an evolutionary level, is self-centered.

     I even have a self-centered reason, honestly. I chose to write about my journey because I was once the one searching. I was the one on the other side of the keyboard going, “I don’t think I should do this.” I know the furor of spending hours pouring over my book just to make sure it was picture perfect, because if it wasn’t, I was sure people were just going to throw me off as another crappy self-pub. I know the terror of clicking submit. I know how it felt, and I want to share it.

     It wasn’t that long ago for me, but I have to admit, it simultaneously seems like forever and no time at all. I’ve had so much control over my story that I can’t imagine publishing my debut in any other way, and since I think print & electronic mediums may switch, with print become a novelty (heh) and not the norm, I bet eBook publishing will become more of a required skill. Online shopping is now a huge part of first-world culture as well – and Amazon is a large part of that. I can’t wait to see where the future takes me.

     And if you’re wondering, “Should I self-publish?”, feel free to go back to the previous entry and read some of the articles I linked, as well as viewing the flow chart I posted!

     Thank you so much for reading! 😀

Leave a Reply

