Confessions of a Writer Tag

I was tagged to do the Confessions of a Writer Tag by Annelisa Christensen (whose answers are here!).

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
     I first starting writing when I was rather young, but I ended up having to stop before the age of 14.  There were concerns that writing was taking away from my ability to complete my schoolwork, and I was forbidden from it.  I ended up not writing anything (outside of school papers) for over a decade.

What genre do you write?
     Historical Fiction

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
     It’s the second book in my Trastámara Series, which I started working on during last year’s NaNoWriMo.  I’m having difficulty finishing properly due to promoting La B.

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
     I wrote a “book” about losing my first tooth, when I was 5 or 6. There were illustrations, and I remember one of them was an awful version of me, in a dress, kneeling to pray with a river of blood erupting from my mouth. I was a moderately morbid child.

What’s the best part about writing?
     Losing myself in another world.

What’s the worst part about writing?
     Writer’s block.

What’s the name of your favourite character and why?
     Hm…  I don’t know that I actually have a favorite.  I see all of their flaws.  Constanza’s a horrible, one-sided protagonist, Alionor’s too emotional, my third protagonist would prefer to keep her head in the ground about certain matters (in her defense, she’s a child for most of the book), while my fourth seems to be a bit of an entitled brat, so… I think may favorite character might be Queen Juana Manuel, Enrique II’s wife. I was told she was an awful character because she could never decide whether she loved or hated Constanza, but there’s an indecisiveness to her person that I think makes her human. It also comes into play with her descendants.
Spoiler: EVERTHING IN A SERIES IS CONNECTED! haha

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
     I don’t really get to write that often now.  I spend most of my time promoting La B and trying to get author events.  It’s a vicious cycle.

Did you go to college for writing?
     Nope! The closest I came was starting a Secondary Edu. degree – English as my major, with History as my minor. People asked why I didn’t choose to major or minor in Math, and the answer is excruciatingly simple: I can’t math. I really can’t. When I was in 11th grade, I took College Geometry (which was the higher level Geometry in high school), and I didn’t actually understand the processes and different formulas from the beginning of the first semester, until the end of my first semester of College Algebra – the next year. I don’t get higher math, and I would have been required to not only learn it, but master it, so I could teach it.
Interestingly, I did end up using math a lot in both of my jobs – I was a retail clerk who was often called to cashier, and you’d be surprised how often fractions and percents come into play. After that, I was a bank teller, which I really enjoyed until I had a medical issue which made it nearly impossible for me to continue.

What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors or grammar errors?
     Spelling.  I think it killed me when I realized my first upload of La B had had spelling errors due to the multiple file conversions.

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
     You know, no one’s ever given me writing advice. Not even in school. I was above average, and that meant I was basically handed an A and ignored, unless I had a teacher with a vendetta (such as the “Writing 101” teacher I had during my first year of college, who decided that since I didn’t use a proper rough draft, my paper was horrible. She didn’t even read it. For the record, I did have a rough draft, but instead of doing the whole “print it out, edit it with a red pen, make change, and rewrite it in a separate document”, I did all of that on the same document, without printing it. I always hated the cookie cutter model of writing a paper – it was annoyingly patronizing).

What advice would you give to another writer?
     N/A.  It’s not that I’m super snotty, I just hate giving advice.  I hate giving advice about anything, because no one remembers if it’s good, but they always remember if it doesn’t work.

What are your favourite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
     I like Twitter and Instagram.  Don’t judge me, I like the community support.

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
     You seem to think I have a life outside of writing! Haha. No, I’m actually getting interested in helping my community up its literacy rates – did you know that 35% of the population of Flint, MI has a reading level of first grade or below? Some of the surrounding areas are just as bad – for one city, that population is 40%, while another is “only” 28%!

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?
     I discovered Jean Plaidy, and I’m really enjoying all of her books.  My current read is THE SPANISH BRIDEGROOM.  I love it.

What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
     Um.  Dunno.  I do like the Outlander series, though that isn’t a movie. The only movie I’ve really seen was Purple Rain! haha

What is your favourite book or series of all time?
     Um…  Do I have to pick?  In my genre, I guess The Cousins’ War series from Philippa Gregory. Outside of my genre, I do enjoy Alice in Wonderland very, very much.

Who is your favourite author?
     PG or Lucy Worsley.

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
     Finish LA REYNA.  Continuing to research Book 3 and beginning the first draft for NaNoWriMo,  Release LA REYNA during NaNo or in December at the latest.

Where else can we find you online?
     Oh My. Where can’t I be found?

  1. Facebook: /KMGuerinAuthor
  2. Twitter/Instagram/Goodreads/Pinterest: @KM_Guerin
  3. Youtube: Isn’t really a thing yet. I’ve considered recording some of my blog entries or other little tidbits, but in the meantime, I do have a book trailer –
    And that’s really it. 🙂

Who do I tag?

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Writer Tag

  1. Hey, I didn’t know you’d done the tag already, came across it accidentally when I did a google search Lol 😀
    So much to comment on here – love the tooth story. Lol, I can imagine it! And I’m very impressed you help out with literacy in the community – such a great thing to do. I’ve often thought about doing something like that (one day, if ever I have enough time). Respect to you for that!
    I enjoyed the video. It was like turning pages of a book.
    I have the promotion of my first book to come, but it seems, from reading this, that I have even less free time to look forward to. Don’t stop writing though, my dear, or what will folk have to read when they finish this?!
    I’ll add your name to the Confessions of a Writer Tag list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

